Merikasarmi, PO Box 176, 00023 Government, Finland
tel: +358 295 350 000
Contact information | How to find the Ministry

EU enlargement and neighbourhood programmes - Twinning and TAIEX

Twinning logoTwinning and TAIEX (Technical Assistance and Information Exchange) are EU-funded instruments where the member states' public administrations offer expert help towards developing administration and legislature in EU applicant and neighbourhood states. This intergovernmental project-based form of co-operation is funded by the Union's Instrument for Preaccession Assistance (IPA) as well as the European Neighbourhood and Partnership Instrument (ENPI).

Beneficiary states

Twinning and TAIEX projects are carried out in EU candidate states in the Western Balkans, Turkey and Iceland (IPA states) as well as states part of the European Neighbourhood Policy both in the East and South.

  • Twinning - IPA beneficiary states: Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Iceland, Kosovo, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, and Turkey

  • Twinning - ENPI beneficiary states: Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijhan, Egypt, Georgia, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Moldova, Tunis, and Ukraine

  • TAIEX beneficiary states: In addition to the above: Libya. Syria, Palestinian territory and Belarus.

Presentation on TAIEX

Watch TAIEX presentation from EU Enlargement on Vimeo.

Twinning projects currently open for proposals:


Takaisin ylös