Merikasarmi, PO Box 176, 00023 Government, Finland
tel: +358 295 350 000
Contact information | How to find the Ministry

Diplomatic representation of foreign states in Finland / Helsinki Diplomatic List

    As a rule, foreign states are represented in Finland in three ways. Foreign embassies attend to the relations of their government with Finland comprehensively. Career consulates and honorary consulates complement the foreign state´s network of missions often outside the metropolitan region. In Finland, there are also five international organisations, which are responsible for special tasks based on international agreements.

    At present, 62 foreign embassies are based in Helsinki, employing about 400 foreign diplomats and some 450 administrative and assistant career officials. In addition, the missions have locally employed staff. The largest embassies are the Embassy of Russia, the Embassy of the United States and the Embassy of China.

    All states do not have an embassy in Finland but activities are handled from the capital of some other country, usually Stockholm or London. Some hundred states have a so-called non-resident ambassador accredited to Finland. Russia has a consular representation both in Turku and Mariehamn and Sweden in Mariehamn to complement their embassy’s services and activities.

    In addition, three missions in Helsinki represent the European Union institutions. The EU has become a stronger actor in Finland in the recent years, when the European Chemicals Agency, ECHA, a decentralised EU agency employing over 500 staff, started operation in Helsinki in 2007.

    This document

    Other Foreign Service websites

    Content administrator Protocol Services

    Updated 9/25/2014

    Takaisin ylös